The "Ball Apartments" or "Hackett House"
The original Hackett house was built in 1884-1885 by Ephraim Hackett, a Chicago lawyer and friend of Charles Lapham (who built his iconic winter cottage, the Lapham-Patterson house, next door). Hackett died in 1887. After a few ownership changes, the house was purchased in the 1930's by Miss Ruby Ball and converted to four apartments which remain today. Landmarks members Marilynn and Randy Rhea purchased the property in late 2014 and have beautifully renovated it top to bottom, carefully making the apartments practical and plush for modern use with respect for the building's unique, historic details. Enjoy locally made Susina Wines, beer, and light bites. No charge to attend, but d